Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

Good afternoon, everyone. Happy Friday. I am home sick, put to bed until Tuesday thanks to the heinous germs going around my part of the world. And of course, my body and respiratory system has welcomed them in for a party. Even my teeth hurt.

I have NOT tried these and Spawn has said he’s willing to make them tomorrow or Sunday. This came out of one of my many Diabetic Cookbooks and Weight Watchers love anything that is diabetic friendly.

bbpp2

This is what they want you to think they look like.

bbpp1

This is what they PROBABLY look like and is a healthier portion.

bbpp3

I think those look like chocolate chip cookies, with blueberry garnish.

This recipe serves 4 and contains 36G of carbs.

Reminder – Tbsp is a Tablespoon and tsp is a teaspoon. Big difference in measuring

1/2 cup buckwheat flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 Tbsp sugar* or whatever sugar substitute you use. I like Truvia as Splenda is INCREDIBLY sweet!

1/2 tsp backing powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup refrigerated or frozen egg product thawed, or 1 egg, lightly beaten (I guess it’s not a pain slut)

1 1/4 cup buttermilk or sour milk

1 Tbsp canola oil

1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup of fresh or frozen blueberries

1/4 cup of sugar free maple syrup

4 tsp light butter.

 

First off, let me say, if you don’t know that butter is much better for you than fake butter or margarine, well it is! I don’t even keep margarine in my house for any reason. bad bad bad!

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the first 7 ingredients. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.
  2. In a small bowl, combine egg, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla. Add butter to mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until combined but still slightly lumpy. Stir in blueberries.
  3. For each pancake, pour about 1/4 cup batter onto hot, lightly greased griddle or heavy skillet. (We have a new griddle that is WONDERFUL and a big ass heavy Iron Skillet that I could bean someone with pretty easy!) Spread batter into a circle (or don’t. Mine are usually pretty circular as I have a mixing bowl with a pouring spout.) about 4 inches in diameter. Cook over medium heat for 1 to 2 minutes before flipping or until pancakes are golden brown, have a bubbly surface and the edges are slightly dry.
  4. Serve warm with butter and syrup.

Tip to making sour milk, if you don’t have buttermilk on hand.

Place 3 3/4 tsp lemon juice or vinegar in a 2 cup glass measuring cup. Add enough milk to make 1 1/4 cups total liquid. Stir and let sit for 5 minutes before using.

Now here’s the fine print we don’t like to look at but must.

Per serving – which is 3 pancakes and 1 Tbsp of syrup and 1 tsp of light butter each

237 calories

8g fat – 2g saturated fat

8 mg of cholesterol

450 mg sodium

36g of carbs (4g is fiber and 10g is sugar

9g of protein

If you’ve used a sugar substitue and you should have what changes is

232 calories

35g of carbs, 9 grams of which are sugars.

When we try this (I so hope tomorrow!) We’ll let you know!!! I’ve never had buckwheat pancakes but everyone I know who has, loves them! And we have fresh – well frozen, but – blueberries in the freezer, picked from my mom’s blueberry bushes last summer! If you try them before I do, please let us know what you think!

So, Guy? Would you like some pancakes?

tumblr_rnepq24p8SQ1sxnwelo6_1280

I thought you might look back for some!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes

Leave a comment