Kale Chicken Soup

2 packages chicken tenderloins sliced into small chunks

1 bunch kale chopped

1 onion diced

1 bell pepper diced

4 stalks celery diced

3 cups diced carrots

1 package grape tomatoes whole

2 tablespoons minced garlic

3 boxes unsalted chicken broth (plus 2-3 cups water depending on size of the pot)

1 stick unsalted butter (amount is optional, you do want to have some fat in this)

2 tablespoons red pepper flakes

2 dashes curry powder

1-2 teaspoons garlic powder

1 – 1/2 cups jasmine rice

Chop all the veggies up first.  Put the desired amount of butter in the pan to melt first then toss in all the veggies, pepper flakes, and curry powder.  Let that all saute together on medium to medium high heat so the veggies can start cooking and soften up.  Let that go for about 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally so it doesn’t burn.  While that’s cooking cut up the chicken.  When the veggies are a bit soft toss in the chicken and mix well adding in the garlic powder.  Let the chicken get mostly cooked, about another 10 minutes or so, stirring every few minutes.  Then pour in the broth and extra water if needed.  Bring this to a rolling boil for about 15 min.  By now it’s almost done, just toss in the rice and cook another 15 min or until the rice is cooked and enjoy.

I’ve been feeling under the weather the last week and have been craving chicken soup.  Feeling poor like I have been I’ve been eating a lot of bad stuff like cheesecake, chocolate cake, and other sweet items.  I’ve ended up gaining weight and retaining a ton of water, making me feel even worse about myself.  When I go to cook an old fashioned recipe I never do anything the normal or old fashioned way.  By the time I was done with this the total cooking time was about an hour and a half or so.  I hope you guys like it.

 

3 thoughts on “Kale Chicken Soup

Leave a comment